Many young people choose to take a year out between finishing school and starting university in order to gain work experience or to travel. The experience of non-academic life this offers benefits the individual when they return to education. To what extent do you agrede or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience . Write at least 250 words

Some people choose a gap year after finishing high school to gain other experiences which they believe could benefit them. I wholeheartedly disagree with getting a gap year after high school due to the facts that will be elaborated in this essay. Some universities have a maximum age in their requirements where the student can not be more than 19 years old when applying for the study. Unlike master's degrees, bachelor's degrees often accept students around 18-19 years old and people who take a year out would not benefit due to the fact that one year would be enough for people to forget about essential knowledge to begin certain majors. For instance, chemical science major requires their students to have a fundamental knowledge of chemistry because they will deep dive into experimental projects in college. Although a gap year would give opportunities to explore other activities such as travelling and informal work, formal academic institutes would prefer their student with in-depth understanding rather than personal achievements that are not related to academics. Another disadvantage of getting a year out is the individuals would not be in the same class as their peers that are the same age. This happens obviously because their friends would become their seniors and this probably would affect their social and mental. Consequently, the students have a possibility to be compared with their peers though they started college in different years and they tend to feel left out of their circles. To conclude, there are drawbacks to a year out after graduating from school because many universities have maximum age in their admission requirements. Thus, I suggest that students get other experiences during college and not take a gap year after high school.