In many countries around the world young people decide to leave their parents’ home once they finish school. They start living on their own or sharing a house with friends. Is this a positive or a negative development?

In many Western countries, such as Australia and Germany, many young people leave their parents' home after graduating from high school. I think this is a positive development, as it pushes them to grow into more responsible, autonomous, and resilient adults. In the rest of this essay, I will further develop these reasons to support my position. Personally, I think that if young people continue to stay at home, they lose out on essential opportunities to acquire new skills, such as getting a job, starting a sharehouse with friends, and learning how to look after themselves. Without these skills, young people cannot assume responsibility for their actions and may continue to rely on their parents or older family members to finish basic life tasks. Such mollycoddling stunts their growth and can set them up for failure in future. Once young people become more comfortable managing day-to-day tasks, they will also feel more confident and competent in their abilities. For example, some of my most outstanding University students live independently and often tell me that leaving their parental home was a huge milestone in their journey towards greater autonomy and self-belief. However, one might worry that in our contemporary world, where we face immense financial and cost-of-living pressures, we should not leave young people to fend for themselves. I think this worry is misguided. According to a study conducted by Harvard University, independent young people fare better than dependent young people in navigating the challenges and hardships that life thows at them. In this way, they can hone their resilience and improve at overcoming adversity. To conclude, we are witnessing a positive development with young people. As more and more of them choose to live on their own or with friends to pursue their dreams and ambitions, we can rest assured that the future of our worl will be left in secure hands.