Some people think that the government's investment in sports events such as the Olympics brings significant benefits to the country. Do the advantages of hosting international sports events outweigh the disadvantages?

Whether governments should hold sports competitions and relevant campaign or not is a heated debate these days. While a group of people state that the events which the government investes in might accompany with considerable profits, others claim that the drawbacks are also apparent. This essay will elaborate on pros and cons for this issue, and provide the author’s perspective. To begin with, there are numerous benefits that a competition, such as Olympics, can bring to a country. Firstly, it can obviously facilitate the economic growth in the country, especially the local areas near the gymnasium, where the sports event is located in. For instance, during Taipei Open Championship, which was a renowned badminton competition held last year, the surrounding stores and shops next to Tapei Arena gained tremendous profits from the people who went to see the play. Moreover, making the country more internationally known is another advantage. Countries like Taiwan and Tailand actually possess long-lasted trandition and many historical architectures, which are really worth visiting but not yet prevalent internationally. The audience who flew abroad to watch the sport events could higher the country ’s reputation, by having the chance to travel around before or after the competitions. Therefore, government’s investments in sports events are essential if bolstering economy and increasing international visibility is what the country wants to achieve. However, several downsides still exist. The main disadvantage is the crowd those events will bring about. Traffic congestions, excessive people, and other factors had made the city become too crowded during the 2024 Olympics at France. During that period of time, citizens in Paris complained about the heavy jams they encountered on their way to work, which caused huge inconvenience. Thus, the residents blamed the government sectors for holding the competition, claiming that the country oughted not to spend money on unnecessary campaigns. In conclusion, although sports events can bring some negative effects, I still personally contend that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages. Not only facilitating the economic growth, the potential values like country’s reputation the evencts can bring is also significant.