some people think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some people think maintenance an old building spent lots money than build a new ones. The author totally disagree with this statements. Every building have their own function. So, first of all, we have to check the purpose of the building first. For example, if the usage is for house living, it can be hard to demolish it as long as the families still having live there. It’s hard to knock down a building. Some of them hold thousand memories, for instance, an old house of a family should save a story about the family itself, sadness or happiness. This is a psychological reason actually, but some of old people thinks this memories should be looked after until they died because they live and grow with it. If we look at from environmental side, demolish a building contribute for an air, water, and land pollution. Firstly, it can affect to air quality because of concrete dust and ash polluting air. This is also hazardous for human, especially for their lungs. Concrete dust contain big, sharp, and chemical material which can cause cancer. Not only that, concrete waste, wood waste, and any other material waste cannot reuse so it can litter the soil, affected greenery. Not only that, the process is not easy as well. In the urban area, it’s hard to send a bulldozer or excavator to demolish and bring waste to the processed area. Then, it also causing sound pollution for the neighboorhood, makes them feel uncomfort and cannot do their activity as usual. In conclusion, the author still believe that look after for an old building more convenient and easy than it cost and problems its made.