Some people believe that it is important to plant trees in open areas in towns and cities than build more housing in city and town. To what extent do you agree and disagree?

It is believed that it is crucial to plant trees in free spaces in urban areas rather than constructing more buildings in towns and cities. While some may argue that housing is more beneficial, in my view, it is better to create larger green areas. On the one hand, it could be argued that the expansion of residential areas can help lower housing prices. As the level of urbanisation rises constantly, city authorities build more and more houses or apartments so that they can provide accommodation for residents. Meanwhile, as more housing is built, property prices decrease significantly because the supply meets demand. As a result, it creates more opportunities for the lower-income population to purchase homes and to deal with the rising rates of urbanisation. On the other hand, I firmly believe that the expansion of green areas is far more advantageous for urban residents. First and foremost, trees help maintain good air quality and attract different wild species that can build their nests there. Furthermore, trees reduce the level of air pollution, since photosynthesis purifies the air by consuming carbon dioxide and releasing oxygen. For example, cities such as Singapore have successfully integrated tree-planting programs that have improved air quality and created a more pleasant environment for people. As a result, this may lead to better health conditions for city dwellers because they will be less likely to suffer from lung diseases, and it can also reduce their stress levels. To conclude, although building more housing may help lower property prices and create more living space for citizens, in my opinion, planting trees brings greater long-term benefits. It not only supports wildlife and improves air quality but also promotes the overall well-being of people who live in cities.