Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters (such as food, clothes and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the contemporary era, there have been significant issues about raising children, one crucial issue is decision-making. It is said that some people are worried about the children's rights to make their own choices because they will become arrogant people who do not think about others, while others argue that they should be allowed to choose everything, which can influence them. We cannot deny that making decisions for children can be helpful for their future. In this essay, I will discuss both views and provide my own opinion. On the one hand, when children are allowed to make their own decisions, they usually consider their own priorities in various aspects and do not think about other people, like their parents or siblings. As a result, their parents might put a lot of pressure. Similarly, they will become impolite people in their future lives, which will be a destructive behaviour for social connections. For instance, one of my cousins does not think about his parents ' financial situation. As a consequence, they have to work hard constantly to fulfil their children's dreams. On the other hand, children who have the chance to make decisions about their own matters can foster their self-confidence. They will rely more on themselves in difficulties. Consequently, making various decisions will be easier for them, especially in choosing their careers, fields of study, and life partner. Furthermore, they can develop their independence. For example, when they need to adapt to a new environment during their migration, they are strong enough to deal with their challenges and improve their quality of life. In conclusion, although making different decisions in childhood might make children someone, who do not think about others’ needs, it will be so rewarding for their future, and they become mature enough to rely on themselves. I recommend that their parents and teachers guide them to have more empathy and respect others’ needs as well as their own needs.