Although modern technology has made international communication very easy, many business people still travel long distances to have business meetings. Do the benefits of face to face business meetings outweigh the disadvantages?

In the contemporary era, face-to-face business meetings, even international ones, are still prevalent, although advanced technology has made international communication very easy and convenient. From my perspective, this phenomenon exerts more positive effects. One principal reason for face to face conferences is high efficiency. In this situation, the voice and content of speakers can be clearly spread and expressed, while this outcome may not be achieved online due to unstable wi-fi connection. Thus, offline method can, to a large extent, prevent mutual misunderstanding and enhance communication efficiency and output. Additionally, the sense of involvement for participants can be strengthened if choosing face-to-face business meetings. It is easy to divide attenders into small groups where they can brainstorm and discuss freely and openly, which is beneficial for coming up with some creative ideas. Furthermore, when a representative is presenting, it is easy for others to interrupt and question to trigger deep thinking and thereby find out superior remedies. These flexible discussions, however, are elusive to achieve through online communication. While these benefits of face-to-face business conferences are compelling, it is undeniable that they also have some drawbacks. The main one is high expenditure for both holders and participants, including renting appropriate venues, paying for accommodation, and spending on transport. Conversely, only by selecting online meetings, do all these expenditures not exist at all. However, in my view, it is just these costs both parties are willing to pay that sufficiently illustrate that they value this meeting, so it is exceptionally conducive to reaching a consensus regarding some contentious issues and even contributing to some major business cooperations. In conclusion, face-to-face international business meetings are meaningful and have more positive aspects as they can improve the sense of involvement and communication efficiency.