Some people believe that children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming children at secondary school outweigh the disadvantages?

There is an ongoing debate about whether middle school students should receive personalised teaching or be taught in mixed-ability classes. Not only does being taught at your own pace provide better progress, but it also risks isolating those who struggle to keep up. Although I believe that it has advantages, in my opinion, they do not outweigh the downsides of it. Firstly, adapting to the pace of their classmates prepares the pupils for adult life. In most real-life scenarios, you have to accommodate others; not everything can be tailored to your personal needs. A good example of that would be the workplace, where you will have to adjust to the surrounding community, as it is a group space where compromising with every worker's expectations is not possible. If children grow up expecting everything to be personalised to them, wouldn’t that result in a shock coming out to see that it is not how it works in adult life? In addition, it is important to mention that kids can be unkind, and everyone being at different levels would very likely cause bullying and discrimination. Most pre-teens or early adolescents go through a phase of rebellion, and almost everyone I know either was pushed around or was the bully in secondary school. Considering the fact that there will be many peers as it is, giving them one more excuse for cruel behaviour would ruin the childhood for those who may be slow learners, although learning at your own personal speed might be more beneficial, as every individual would have their needs met. In conclusion, I do not think that streaming students is a good idea, even though the quality of learning might increase; it is not worth depriving children of the joyful and playful years of their life, as well as making it more difficult to adapt in upcoming social situations.