Some people believe that young people should be required to do unpaid work in their spare time to help their community. Others argue that this should be a personal choice. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

A section of society thinks that to help the community, youngsters should involve themselves in volunteer work when they have some leisure time; however, others believe that it is a personal choice. In my opinion, helping society will boost the cognitive skills of young people and they will also become more responsible. On the one hand, unpaid work fosters the development of cognitive skills. This is because while assisting others, teenagers can enhance their problem-solving skills. For example, working at an early age would make them more creative. They will likely solve their own problems without depending on others. As a result, their brains start functioning alone and they will become more independent. Moreover, working in spare time will stop them from engaging in other detrimental activities, such as drugs, harassment and many more. Consequently, they will become more responsible and focused. On the other hand, no one can force the minds to work without money. Working as a volunteer is a personal choice. There should be no rules or regulations for young people to spend their free time on unpaid work. If they have other interests or goals, they can accomplish those goals in their spare time by working on them. For instance, if anyone wants to be a musician, they can focus on this talent and can be a professional in future. In conclusion, although volunteer work possesses various advantages to youngsters, it is a personal choice and no one can force them to do so. However, elders can encourage them to work for society by telling the benefits of it.