Some people who have been in prison become good citizens later, and it is often argued that these are the best people to talk to teenagers about the dangers of committing a crime. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is true that ex-prisoners can become productive members of society. I strongly concur with the view that allowing such people to speak to teenagers and being told not to do any illegal action can be the most significant option. In my opinion, the young generation is more likely to accept advice from someone who can speak from experience. Reformed offenders can tell teenagers about how they became involved in crime, the dangers of a criminal lifestyle, and what prison life is like. They can also dispel any ideas that young people may have about criminals leading glamorous lives. While adolescents are often indifferent to the guidance given by older people, I assume that most of them would be extremely keen to hear the stories of someone who had broken rules. The vivid and perhaps shocking nature of these stories is likely to have a powerful impact. The alternatives to using ex-offenders to educate teenagers about crime would be much less effective. One approach would be for police officers to visit schools and talk to students. This could be useful in terms of informing teens about what happens to lawbreakers when they are caught, but the young generation is often reluctant to take advice from figures of authority. A second option would be for teachers to give a speech about crime, however, I doubt pupils would see their mentors as credible sources of information about this topic. Finally, educational films might be informative, but there would be no opportunity for spectators to interact and ask questions. In conclusion, I fully support the view that people who have turned their lives around after serving a prison sentence could help to deter teenagers from committing crimes.