Some toddlers are using mobile phones for hours each day. Why is this the case? Is this positive or negative development?

Many toddlers, nowadays, are using mobiles for long periods on a daily basis. This is because parents want to distract their children while they are busy with more important matters. This could have a negative impact on toddlers’ development because it reduces the interaction with the real world. Parents use phones to entertain their children. This is because adults do not always have the needed time to look after their toddlers while working or accomplishing daily tasks. That is why they use mobiles to keep them occupied while they focus on what they need to do without being distracted or interrupted. For example, cooking requires a lot of concentration and attention so many parents give phones to their children to keep them entertained and finish their job without being distributed. Mobiles can have a negative impact on children ’s development and affect their interaction with the world. This is because the young ones do not discover the world through real life experience but through screens. That is why their understanding of their surroundings can be lacking or misleading. For example, children who have seen horses only on screens can be scared of their real life size and lack the general knowledge about this species. In conclusion, many toddlers use cellphones because their care givers do not have enough time to keep them busy while they solve important matters. This may have a negative impact because it lacks the real life experience and the child may receive misleading information that damages his perception of his surroundings.