News media often focus on problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. To what extent do you agree or disagree?”

It is often argued that news organisations mainly highlight problems and emergencies rather than positive developments. This essay completely agrees with this view. Firstly, negative stories attract more audiences and therefore generate more profit for the media; secondly, this constant focus on crises can negatively affect people ’s mental health and create unnecessary fear. People engage more with alarming reports, as they are unexbicted, resulting in a significant view count, leading to a higher rating for the channel. Moreover, this type of news is crucial for citizens as it might affect them. For all that, the broadcasters gain a huge profit, and that is why they focus on this type of media. An example, during Covid-19 it was the peak for reporters as people from around the world viewed the channel all day long to get the leatest update. However, it can easily harm the community, especially crime related news. People from several age groups can get anxiety and fear that certain situations occur to them. The consistent thinking can result in many haert related problems and mental issues. An instance, the story about the kid who fall into a water well, everyone was scared thinking how can he survive and how could we prevent that from happening in the future, so no one was able to live normally as they used to be, they were more aware of eveyrthing. In conclusion, one of the primary reasons origanisations showcase negative stories is to increase their profit because people follow them more than success stories and achivments.