Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mible phones for communication has a negative effect on young people's reading and writing skills. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A large proportion of society claims that communicating through computers and mobiles has worsened the reading and writing skills of teenagers. From my perspective, I disagree, although they gather a lot of information that is hard to read, these devices have correcting keyboards, and also they improve our skim and scan skills. To begin with, new technology typically brings new tools. Growing communication through computers and phones brought new tools. For example, automatic keyboard corrections can improve our writing skills. Sometimes, they suggest new words and phrases. Moreover, due to the fast communication available through technology, people receive a lot of information. Reading all this information is an arduous task. As a result, it trains our brain to be selective. Consequently, it improves teenagers' reading skills. For instance, in the past, the volume of incoming information was low. People usually read every word, but nowadays, they tend to read only critical words and extract useful information from them. If they get used to this method, it will increase their efficiency. On the other hand, a high volume of information provided by personal computers and mobiles can cause distraction. Misunderstanding of a passage that sometimes occurs is because of poor reading skills. They get a lot of passages which are time-consuming. In addition, recently, the youth do not write the whole word or they summarise the whole sentence in one word, and also they ignore the right spelling. These behaviours can damage their writing skills. To conclude, computers and phones are big distractions; however, they bring new tools and methods to help us with our reading and writing skills.