Old buildings should be preserved because they reflect a country’s history. Others believe they should be demolished to make room for modern housing developments. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In recent years, there has been a rising concern regarding the importance of preservation of historical buildings. Although some people argue that they need to be safeguarded as they represent the tradition of one’s land, others believe that they should be demolished to adopt contemproray changes in housing development. This essay will discuss both these views in detail before presenting my view on it. Advocates of preserving the old infrastructure argue that they depict a nation’s heritage, and thus need to be protected. The design of a traditional building demonstrates the architectural brillance of a region. In other words, it is a symbolic representation of the history. For example, the buildings in Europe, which can be aged back to the early 17th and 18th centuries, are protected as they are historical relics of the modern industrialisation era. On the other hand, supporters of modern housing developments believe that olden structures should be demolished to promote advanced structural architecture. As the land is already equipped with traditional housing apartments, there is less room for novel constructions. Hence, it is the need of the hour to remove old buildings and create space for new ones. For instance, nowadays, young adults prefer to transform traditional houses into modern, well-equipped villas due to the comfort and conveinance they offer. In my opinion, I strongly believe that though it is important to preserve history, modern developments are essential for economic growth. Historical buildings can be protected while incorporating advanced reformations, which can modify it into a source of income. The concept of heritage tourism can be cited as an example to it where traditional villas are transformed into heritage resorts that attract tourists and generate revenue. Thus, a balnced approach can ensure stability between traditional and modern values. In conclusion, the traditional architecture requires protection but not at the cost of advanced housing developments. By merging historical buildings and modern housing ideas, it can pave way towards cultural harmony.