The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the mostprominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead toEnglish becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages to having one language in the world?

In the modern world, someone said that the development of torism made English the language of the world. So I can't help imagine a world where everyone speaks the same language. This idea presents a mix of significant advantages and considerable drawbacks which both could be easily seen. On the positive side, the benefits will be fasnating. Global communication will become the reality, the language barriers before in international business and travel would fade. Scientific research would be more easily to spread away, so knowledge could be shared easily without translation delays or misunderstandings. This will must boost global communication and economic development. Furthermore, social and cultural exchanges would be more direct, countries don't need to pay lots of money on translation services. So many uncessary disputes on language will not come again.In one world, if there is only one language, people's life will absolutely be more convenient. By contrast, the disadvantages are also great. The most significant loss would be cultural diversity. Language is not just a tool for communication. Instead, languages symbolize a cultrue's history and identity. The different pronunciation and the letters are both great human heritages, like the literacture works. Meanwhile, the tradition behind the languages, which may prove the existence of some ancient cultures could also be found in different languages. Languages are keys for us to link the past and the future. The single language will let our logic become more monotonous. In conclusion, while a single global language will take great efficiency and convenience, it threatens the variety of human culture that makes our world so unique. The price of ultimate convenience might be the loss of our collective heritage.