The development of tourism contributed to English becoming the most prominent language in the world. Some people think this will lead to English becoming the only language to be spoken globally. What are the advantages and disadvantages of only having one language in the world? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Although globalisation helps the spread of the global language, many people think that having one language in the world will be beneficial. While using one language offers several benefits, it also has disadvantages, and this essay will explain both arguments. One of the advantages is convenience. Everyone can talk easily without worrying about misunderstanding in translation. For example, if English becomes the only global language, someone who wants to go to South Korea does not have to learn Hangul and the Korean language to buy something in a local market. They can just use English because everyone in that country speaks and uses English as well. This means that there are no boundaries to cross and develop themselves around the world. On the other hand, this also gives some drawbacks, such as there is no more uniqueness about the country, both in language and cultures. For instance, Hangul is originally a word-form from Korea, these words also form the Korean language. Because of this, most people easily know Korean by just seeing the language. Additionally, if all countries use one language, it makes the original language of this country slowly fade and going to be lost. This actually happens in ancient countries like Latin and Greek because there are no one speaks this language anymore. In conclusion, while using one language is beneficial for someone who wants to travel the world without further worries about the lack of language, it also has disadvantages by losing the country’s originality. Whether people prefer the pros and cons, it is depends on their preferences and viewpoint.