Some people think that the modern communication technology is having a negative effect on a social relationships. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The question of whether technological advancement has changed our social interaction in a negative way has been widely debated. While I accept a downside effect of this tendency such as heavy dependence on devices, it benefits us to strengthen our bonds. First and foremost, the detrimental outcome of development is screen addiction. Individuals waste vast amounts of time on their digital devices instead of communicating with their friends and family. Weakened relationships with our loved ones lead to isolation and fewer face-to-face interactions. Much psychological research has shown/ reported people nowadays go to therapy and counselling in order to overcome loneliness. On the other hand, the rapid proliferation of digital devices offers global corporations. These help individuals to interact with each other regardless of geographical locations. Previously, the message had reached to targeted person over a long period of time as the letter needed to commute a long distance, however, it requires only a few seconds. Communication across the countries has become accessible. For example, overseas students and migrants can talk with their families, giving us a sense of bonding even being far away from them. Another worth mentioning factor is the convenience it provides. People no longer need to allocate spare time to communicate with, they get in touch wherever and whenever they want. Take, for example, in my grandparents’ generation they needed to plan in advance to talk each other, nevertheless, now messaging, video-calls and calling are possible for interconnecting. In conclusion, even though technical innovations bring adverse results, international communication and comfort are more worthwhile. Instead of seeing it as a drawback, we should overcome the challenges, and implement the positive sides in our daily lifestyles.