In many countries around the world, rural people are moving to cities, so the population in the countryside is decreasing. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

It is noticeable that suburban residents prefer to migrate to bigger cities. Therefore, the population in the rural areas are decreasing while the urban population is excessively rising. This essay argues that it is a negative trend as it creates pressure for both metropolitans and countryside in several aspects. When people move out of countryside, the population loss directly leads to labour shortage. For instance, local grocery shops or bakeries might face difficulties to hire sufficient workers, which will impact the business operation and convenience for the local residents. Moreover, the people migrate to bigger cities are usually younger generation, which will gradually result in aging population in the rural areas. This issue will bring various challenges for the local government, such as reduced tax income and increased pension expediture. Regarding urban cities, the rapid increasing population creates higher living expense for each individual, which includes housing, daily transportation and grocery. Even though there are more opportunities to find a job, there is also significant amount of stress due to the high comepetition. Furthermore, people living in the big cities might have less resources to access medical care and childcare support. To conclude, migration from rural to urban seems like an inevitable trend. However, it brings multiple negative impact to both countryside and cities. On the one hand, countryside will experience labour shortage while the local authorities will face the challenges of an aging society. On the other hand, cities will witness price increase and a more stressful lifestyle for its people.