In some country young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting University studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

The world has greatly changed, and that includes education. Today, many young people decide not to attend University directly from high school. Instead, they plan to work or travel for a year. This essay will examine both the advantages and disadvantages of doing this. On the one hand, there are many advantages in taking a year off and not going to University. First, a gap year helps young people gain real-life experience. For example, when students work, they will learn how to manage money and how to deal with responsibilities. Second, travelling is also useful because it allows the students to see new cultures, meet different people and become more confident. Another benefit is choosing the right major. Many teenagers are unsure about what they want to study. By working or travelling, they might discover their interests and make better decisions about their future studies. However, on the other hand, there are some drawbacks. One of the disadvantages of taking a year off is that it makes it difficult for some students to return to academics. They may feel less motivated to start university. Also, they might forget their studying habits. Second, travelling for one year can often be expensive, and not every family can afford it. Third, it may delay their education. For example, even working for a year may delay students from starting their careers, compared to others. Also, this will serve to delay graduation with their classmates. In conclusion, it is clear to see that a gap year can be beneficial, offering many advantages. However, it must be noted that it also presents some disadvantages. It is up to the individual and their maturity.