Some people believe that university students should pay all the cost of studies because university education only benefits the students themselves, not the society as a whole. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is believed that students have to cover all expenses for their education as university courses bring about advantages to the students rather than benefiting the society as a whole. I disagree with this view for the following reasons. Firstly, when student financial aid is provided, more people will have access to tertiary education. As a result, they will have a better chance of securing a job, leading to a lower unemployment rate. This will undoubtedly go some way towards reducing crime, because the root cause of crime is a lack of employment and job opportunities. Statistics show that in most cities, the higher the college enrollment rate is, the lower the crime rates are, which is a testament to the positive impact of tuition fee subsidies on making society safer. Secondly, if the financial burden that undergraduates have to shoulder is eased, they can divert more effort and time to social and community projects that universities are frequently associated with. Such projects have been contributing greatly to helping the underprivileged. For instance, most universities in Vietnam have voluntary clubs to help improverished families in disaster-prone areas to repair and renovate their house. If grants, bursaries and scholarships were to be dispensed with, students would most likely spend their free time working part-time to cover their college costs, rather than partaking in such activities to give back to the society. To conclude, providing public subsidiariesfor tertiary education studies does not only do students themselves a service but also the public thanks to the decline in criminal activities and increase in students ' participation in voluntary work.