Health experts claim that walking is known to be beneficial to health. However, people are walking less on a daily basis. What are the reasons for this? What can be done to encourage people to walk more again?

Nowadays, health professionals believe that walking is one of the best forms of physical exercise for maintaining a healthy condition. However, many people rarely do exercise, especially walking. There are several issues related to this phenomenon, and I will explain what can be done to address them. To begin with, technology is one of the important causes of many individuals walking less. Using a smartphone and enjoying playing favorite video games will make people lazy. For instance, there are two out of three adults in America experiencing obesity because of excessive playing of Valorant, the most popular first-person shooter video game in the US. In addition, social media creates harmful habits for many individuals worldwide. People tend to communicate with others through chat or video calls rather than meeting face to face in the real world. This cause will reduce their movement to create communication in society and reduce their walking count. To encourage all members of society to walk more, substantial efforts will be needed. Firstly, the government should develop regulations to reduce the impact of social media. In Australia, for example, the government restricts social media for teenagers. Only people aged 18 or above can use social media accounts such as Facebook, Instagram, and TikTok. Hence, to send emails for business and company purposes, one must be aged 22 or above due to the regulation. In conclusion, many people are walking less for several reasons, including excessive use of social media and video games. Creating regulations plays a pivotal role in reducing and mitigating the detrimental effects of this phenomenon.