modern technology, such as personal computer and the internet, have made it possible for many people to do their work from home at least part of the time instead of going to an office every day. what are some advantages and disadvantages of this situation?

It is true that modern technology makes it possible to work at home. In my view, its benefits and drawbacks play an important role in people's lives. First, no commuting saves time and money, which means workers have more flexible time to arrange. When working in an office, they have to get up early in the morning and arrive home until midnight even though their work are finished. In such case, they barely have time belonging to themselves, which would lead them exhausted. However, working from home motivates them to work efficiently as the time and energy saved can be used for their own lives. In the long term, this approach not only benefits workers but also enhance personal working efficiency. Moreover, job choices would be wider as distances are no longer needed to be considered. People are more likely to choose jobs they really like. It can not be denied that this also has some drawbacks. Working from home causes isolation to some extend. There are no colleagues, leading to less chance to learn and grow. At the same time, cooperation would become harder as everyone has different working paces. If the internet is unreliable, the meeting and communication would be stuck. In my opinion, a balance approach can be adopted. Employers can fixed work times in companies such as two days or even a few hours to enable people to have chances to solve problems in person. Furthermore, people can leave a dedicated workplace at home or find a place which are near their homes to work. In conclusion, I believe advantages of this situation outweigh its disadvantages as long as adoping a balanced approach.