In many cities, young people prefer shopping as a form of leisure activity. Why do you think this happens? Is it a positive or negative development?

There is an ongoing debate about a growing trend that young people prefer shopping as a type of entertainment in numerous cities. I believe that this practice poses both benefit and drawback, and it is essential to adopt a balanced approach between shopping and other important leisure activities that greatly contribute to individuals developing in their personal and professional lives. One of the main advantages of shopping is a unique opportunity it provides for people to become awareness of new trends in today's modern era. This feature plays a crucial role in people's lifestyle and minimises the challenges individuals face in their daily routine, making life more comfortable. For instance, shopping can exposure one to novel digital devices like dishwashers, which has made washing dishes more convenient and reduced the consumption of water. This convenient has allowed individuals to focus on other activities such as reading a book. Hence, shopping can connect young people to current fashions and offers products diminish the pressures of daily life. Nevertheless, over-reliance on shopping as a leisure activities can deprive one of other engaging activities, such as exercising, socialising, traveling, and exploring nature. These activities greatly contribute to individuals improving vital skills, including communication, teamwork, critical thinking, and problem-solving, setting them on a continuous path of personal and professional growth. As an example, traveling to diverse settings exposure one to a wide range of cultures and heritages, which broadens historical understanding and provides unique opportunities to challenge their abilities in various conditions. Thus, over dependence on shopping prevents people from cultivating essential capabilities, which assist in personally and professionally developing. In conclusion, in my opinion, while shopping as an entertainment can inform individuals of new fashions, over participating in this activity can hinder people from engaging in other important hobbies, such as sports and trip. Consequently, it is imperative to consider a harmonious approach between shopping and other important activities.