Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for the charity, teaching sports to younger children. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some individuals believe that volunteer work should be compulsory for high school students. I agree with this notion because it helps develop essential life skills, and encourages them to become responsible citizens. To begin with, making community service mandatory can help teenagers build important qualities. When students participate in any charity event, or cleaning the playgrounds, and supporting the underprivileged groups, then they can learn important social skills, such as empathy, team work, and patience. These skills are not only important for their holistic development but also give them the opportunity to use that time wisely for the well-being of society. Moreover, students become responsible from an early age. They understand what their responsibilities are, and what society expect for them. It is common to see, when students meet new people everyday such as in an old-age home, or in an orphanage centre, then they can show their great care towards them to make them feel special. For instance, reading books and food sharing develops kindness in their hearts. In addition, the discrimination between the rich and poor will definitely reduce when students show their active engagement in social welfare. However, some people are against the compulsion made by schools. Those children who spend their precious time doing unpaid work, can lose their interest in studying school subjects. Because of that, they may achieve lower grades, and their nature becomes less competitive as well. In conclusion, undoubtedly, volunteer service is beneficial to develop interpersonal skills among students which is not possible to learn while studying at schools, and also become mature at their school age. But they may achieve lower grades when they do not study properly.