Some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In today's society, there is a growing perception among supporters of community rehabilitation that imprisonment is not the best punitive measure. Instead, we should educate and train criminals to reform their characters and give them a chance to access jobs. While it is a very understandable argument, I fully disagree with this view in the essay below. First and foremost, my disagreement emerges from the fact that jail is actually the best place to instil discipline and punishment for offenders. The strict approach to prisons, sometimes underlined by corporal acts, hard manual labour, and long periods of confinement (including life in jail), is still very effective enough to reform individuals and reduce their chances of re-offending. As an example, in my country of origin, Zimbabwe, Chikurubi Maximum jail is known to be a no-go area for a human being, because of the deliberate strategy of providing strict and poor services to inmates. Crime rates have significantly flattened over the years as a result of people avoiding the detriments associated with this prison. Secondly, my disagreement with the stated view is that education and job training do not necessarily act as tools for effectively managing lawlessness. This is because some of the world's known criminals are well educated and occupy top jobs. In fact, nowadays, crimes are increasingly being committed by individuals in suits. For example, a recent report from World Crime Watch showed that 80 per cent of hacker-related offences were committed by Harvard-trained computer scientists, people already earning millions from their 9-5 jobs. This proves that prisons are still important to deal with everyone, including the educated. In conclusion, it is true that some people think that sending criminals to prison is not effective. Education and job training should be used instead. However, I strongly disagree with this view. My ideas were discussed in the essay above.