Many people believe that museums should be free of charge, while others think that they should charge an entry fee to cover maintenance costs and funding for new exhibitions. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It has become common for many individuals to imagine that museums should have free entrance, but others still believe entry charges are useful to cover operational expenses. My view is that since both opinions are important, there is a need to keep the costs low and look for external funding to improve operations. In this essay, I will develop both views, as well as my opinion. To begin with, people who believe that museums should be free of charge argue that these are state institutions that provide highly educational artefacts and materials. People from lower classes should have an opportunity to learn from them. Against this outcry, Zimbabwe recently announced that all its museums were now free, arguing that it was important for everyone to have access to its rich history. On the other hand, however, a fee for service can cover maintenance costs and funding for new exhibitions, especially for those nations that are struggling economically and have no other sources of finance. In the same case of Zimbabwe, while the museums are now free, and people are now increasingly accessing them, many recent visitors are glaringly commenting on the dilapidated state of these institutions, some even lacking general cleaning. It is because the government is burdened financially and cannot afford to maintain them. My view, therefore, is that states should reduce the entry fees to a bare minimum and then source resources from philanthropists to boost the everyday functioning of museums. In Zimbabwe, still, people like Kudakwashe Tagwirei, the business mogul, who is also running a non-profit, can be targeted for such efforts. In conclusion, therefore, whereas some people imagine that museum attendance should have no cost, others think the logistics of everyday demand some kind of payment. My opinion is that we should lower the costs and seek external funds to boost operations.