Some university students want to learn about other subjects in addition to their main subjects. Others believe it is more important to give all their time and attention to studying for a qualification. Dicuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are some university students who support the idea of studying other subjects, while others prefer to focus on their degree in order to get the best possible mark. I firmly believe that it is more important to give all the time to study the principal subjects to have a good qualification. At university, some people prefer to study other disciplines at the same moment that they are also studying for their degree. These people often support their idea by stating that in that way, they would have a better future at work. It is true that enterprises search for people with the best possible CV, and focusing on these other subjects can be essential to improve it. Even if I do not agree with the point of view, for example, a survey made by the Spanish government states that students with knowledge of other disciplines apart from the main ones, in 80% of cases, have a better job post than the other. On the other hand, other students think that it is a better option to stay focused on their main course. In this manner, they are able to get better marks than the others because they spend their time studying and learning things about their field, and they are not distracted. For instance, an article published on the BBC states that those who spend their whole time and attention on their main course finish by getting a much better mark than those who do not. To conclude, some youngsters study more disciplines than the principal ones in order to have a better job post, unlike others, with whom I totally agree, believe that giving all their attention to learning for a qualification is the best option to have good marks.