Should a city try to preserve its old, historic buildings or destroy them and replace them with modern buildings? Use specific reasons and examples to support your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that preserving or destroying old, historical buildings is an important subject to consider. While it is commonly held belief that aged structures should be taken care of, there is also an argument that opposes it. In my opinion, I consider that it must be perpetually protected. To begin with, when old structures that are well perserved, they have beneficial returns to the city. In other words, there are beautiful historical buildings that have been amazingly taken care of, and in exchange, it become tourist attractions. In addition, to it being a motive to raise tourism, it can be a successful financial investment. For example, ancient structures that are a main source of income in some countries, like Egypt, are the pyramids. Another point to consider, several medieval structures are kept well-maintained over centuries for religious reasons. It is also possible to say that it has a connection to nations that follow a certain deity. Moreover, most of them are in the centre of the city, destroying them will cause disfigurement in the city's infrastructure, so it's crucial to preserve them. For instance, Al-Kaaba in Saudi Arabia. In conclusion, despite people having different views, I believe that destroying old, historical buildings is a huge loss of the cultural inherited value.