Some people believe that in the future, environmental problems will mean that we are unable to live on this planet. In order to survive, the human species will need to find another planet that can support life. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

To some people, in the coming years the environmental crisis will make our planet unsuitable for life. Thus, human beings will be forced to move to another planet in order to save the population. In my opinion, this statement is partly correct, since the problem of environmental pollution expends every year. Nevertheless, I do not believe that humans will discover a planet in close proximity that satisfies vital needs. On the one hand, constant carbon emissions and air pollution amplify the global warming problem. As a result, average global temperature increases over time. Additionally, water waste and pollution contribute to a lack of drinking water in the near future. At some point, the climate may change so dramatically that it could become impossible to continue living on Earth. For example, climate change can be observed in the recent fires in Australia. On the other hand, even though scientists actively research different options to prevent human suffering caused by environmental issues, the idea of moving to another planet remains highly hypothetical. At the current stage of space travel, the most probable option is Mars; however, radiation and atmospheric differences from Earth make it challenging to consider Mars a viable alternative to our home. In addition, other potentially suitable planets for life are extremely far away; consequently, it is very unlikely that humans will be able to travel there. For instance, astronomers state that it would take decades to reach the closest planet with similar conditions to those of Earth. In conclusion, humanity is at high risk of causing irreversible changes to Earth’s atmosphere and environment that could become incompatible with life. Still, there are no evidence of the existence of a place in the universe within a reasonable distance that could become an alternative home for human beings.