The Impact of Homework on Students' Academic Performance and Well-being

Homework has been a controversial topic among parents, teachers, and students. While others argue that it is unnecessary and stressful, I strongly believe that it plays a vital role in students ' academic performance. This essay will explore both viewpoints before presenting a personal opinion. On the one hand, homework may lead to stress and anxiety for some students. If the teacher didn't plan the homework wisely according to the lesson objectives, it might cause loss and discomfort for many students. To exemplify, suppose the physics teacher illustrates the force- time graph in class, while the assignment is about the work- time graph. Such an arrangement will lead to confusion and lack of enthusiasm. On the other hand, homework teaches students time management and how to plan their schedule. If a certain student completes his homework and assignments on time, this indicates that he is taking responsibility for his studies. For instance, doing homework in mathematics and foreign languages guarantees the continuation of the learning process and maintains students meeting deadlines. Consequently, conducting homework on a daily basis teaches students to be punctual and responsible in the future. In conclusion, some people think homework is not beneficial and consumes students ' time. I totally advocate the idea that students should practice homework on a daily basis because it will not only contribute to teaching them responsibility but also time management and punctuality.