some people want to government to spend more on looking for life on another planet while others believe it is a waste of money when there are more problems on the earth. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The massive burden of making society a better place to live relies on the shoulders of high-ranking officials. While some argue that the government should spend a vast amount of money seeking life on another planet, others opine that it is not logical to waste that amount of money on a reckless mission when there are more wide-ranging issues on Earth. In my view, many urgent issues should be prioritized by the authorities. On the one hand, overpopulation is one of the major problems related to this modern world. To clarify, there is an increasing trend in the population, especially in metropolises. According to a survey conducted by a top-rated university in my country, Iran, if scientists do not find an alternative solution for living on other planets, the majority of the new generation will struggle to survive due to a shortage of land and natural resources for their daily lives. Hence, the government is responsible for allocating some financial aid to the researchers to address this global issue. On the other hand, money goes a long way in providing better standards of living for dwellers. For example, in some developing countries, such as India, Iran, and even China, the number of residents who are struggling with crippling poverty has increased sharply. If the high-ranking officials dedicate a vast amount of money to finding the likelihood of life on other planets, whereas the majority of individuals are struggling with financial-related matters, it could pose a threat to the well-being of society. In conclusion, although living on other planets could be an ideal aim for the next generations, it does not necessarily mean the government should sacrifice the welfare of the present generation for illogical issues. I think tackling such problems, like inflation and crime, is much more crucial compared to space exploration.