Companies are responsible only for making money for their investors. Therefore, they should not be held accountable for the environmental and social costs of their business activity to society as a whole. Businesses should do no more than concentrate on making profit. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Some people argue that companies are solely responsible for maximising profits for their investors, and they are not accountable for the social and environmental consequences caused by their business activities. In my opinion, I firmly disagree with this statement as it imposes a great threat on environmental degradation and social inequality. This essay will discuss my views with relevant examples. To begin with, business operators hold a significant responsibility in preventing the environmental impacts caused by their activities. That is to say that if they are not held responsible for their actions, the industrial wastes that are exposed to land, water, and air could cause serious environmental pollution because many factories rely on fossil fuels for their production and supply. As a result, a higher proportion of gases such as methane and carbon dioxide will be released to the atmosphere, which causes serious health concerns such as asthma and respiratory-related problems. For example, in Bhutan, the land waste that was released by the clothing companies posed a potential threat to livestock located in the surrounding areas. Furthermore, companies may choose a low labour workforce to maximise their profits. Many industries hire people for low wages by providing poor working conditions, which leads to financial insecurity and low living standards. Without making such sectors liable for their actions, it is highly impossible to manage the social inequality issue, which contributes to societal stress. For instance, in India, Information technology companies outsource their projects to other countries like the Philippines, as the currency rate is significantly lower than in India, to increase profits. Therefore, the unemployment rate is accelerating at an alarming rate. In conclusion, although there are differing opinions about the liabilities of companies on social and environmental aspects. In my opinion, the government should hold them responsible for their actions, considering the impacts on environmental degradation and social inequality.