The working week should be shorter and workers should have a longer weekend. Do you agree or disagree?

Reducing the legal working day, in order to extend the weekends for workers, is a controversial issue. In my view, I partly disagree with this statement. The decrease in working day is detrimental to the development of the economy, resulting in the loss of income for the working class eventually. The decrease in working day would inevitably lead to a reduction in efficient labour and production time, the aggregate industrial outputs would be under pressure. As productivity decreases, economic activities are likely to shrink, causing a macroeconomic downturn and the decline of social wealth. Moreover, the short working week would bring deleterious effects to personal growth. Career is the most crucial part of life for the majority of crowd, because people are not only devoting themselves to earning their salaries, but also to being trained for work in society. People may acquire some skills that are advantageous to their development, such as problem-solving, communication and cooperation. Ensuring sufficient working time allows people to accomplish their jobs and learn from it, enhancing their competency and productivity. On the other hand, undoubtedly, the longer weekend could ensure that workers are entitled to obtain adequate rest, which is necessary for the worker's health. According to the nature of humanity, both physically and mentally, relieving the fatigue that is induced by working is essential, otherwise, workers would be under threat of physical and mental illness. In conclusion, work time and break time are both vital to human society. Even though people desire to have more time to spend on the weekend, it would have disastrous consequences to the economy and society.