some poeple say politician hold more power to protect enviornment , not the inviduals as indivudals can do too little. to what extent do you agree ?

There is an ongoing debate about who is responsible for protecting the environment. Some people argue that government officials are primarily accountable for environmental protection rather than the public because their contributions are significantly limited. In my opinion, I disagree with this statement as it requires a balanced approach from both perspectives. This essay will examine my views with relevant examples in detail. To begin with, the government officials are authorised to enforce strict policies to deter environmental damage. Owing to this, when there is an official policy announced, for instance, imposing taxes on industries that contribute to higher carbon emissions, nobody can reject the policy. Consequently, everyone should adhere to policies, which will eventually protect the environment from significant impacts such as air pollution. As an example, in Western countries, a carbon tax was imposed in the year 2024, though some companies acted against the new taxation policy, finally, they agreed to pay taxes considering the consequences. Hence, politicians can contribute significantly by leveraging their authority in protecting nature. Secondly, individuals also hold a significant responsibility towards protecting our environment. That is to say that, people should actively engage in taking measures against environmental damage, such as proper waste management, minimise the usage of plastic products, which can contribute to the overall health, and well-being of the community. For instance, a recent study revealed that, in India, voluntary campaigns are organised by teenagers to clean the water system in the surrounding lakes, and rivers. Therefore, it is fair that everyone acts accordingly to maintain a clean environment. In my opinion, although politicians have a significant authority to enforce strict policies, individuals must engage equally to protect our surroundings from potential environmental impacts. So, I strongly believe that it's a balanced approach from both perspectives, which will enhance the overall environmental protection