Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions differ regarding whether capital punishment ought to be banned or not. I believe it should be implemented since it is a feasible measure to deter the criminals and they should pay the price for their behaviour. Some people argue that capital punishment is not a humane way of punishment. In today's world, news reports have documented the incidents of random killing, not only in other countries but also in Taiwan. For instance, in 2014, a man killed four people, and more than ten people are wounded, in the running MRT, which is the most significant random killing incident in Taiwan. Opponents of the capital punishment contend this man may have psychological disorder that he did not do this on purpose. If he couldn't control his own due to this illness, it would be cruel for him to be executed. Nevertheless, many individuals still cannot forgive such criminals. Supporters of the capital punishment often argue that the concept of " a life for a life" has been deeply ingrained in human societies for centuries. If these opponents care about criminals humanity, then why these victims should be sacrificed? It is the victims that have the right to feel innocent, not the criminals who are sentenced to capital punishment. In addition, if there were no capital punishment, then the most serious crimes would happen again and again, as the perpetrator won't get sufficient punishment to stop this behaviour. In conclusion, while capital punishment may be inhumane, I still maintain the view that this should be allowed, as criminals should pay for their murders and it is a feasible way to discourage this behaviour.