Some people say that all popular TV programmes should aim to educate viewers about improtant social issues. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Many individuals believe that all popular shows that are broadcast on TV should use this opportunity to talk about vital social problems. From my perspective, many people watch these shows, so these programmes can be used to improve culture; however, social issues can make a program boring for people who want to fill their free time. To begin with, popular TV shows are watched because they are suitable for pastime. If producers add social problems to these shows, many people will consider them a teaching programme. It is undeniable that social problems are not exciting, and when people hear about these problems, they may feel sad and disappointed. As a result, the shows will lose their fans. Moreover, people are in touch with social issues in their daily lives. They do not need to hear and see them again in their favourite shows. Although some people watch popular Television shows for fun, many people are affected by these shows because the human brain is active even in free time. If producers combine these hobbies with some educational messages, people will learn how to deal with social issues. In addition, some people believe that TV is the most favourite medium in a lot of houses. So, it can be used for cultural improvement. For example, in the past, most people did not care about polluting the environment, but nowadays they are aware of the consequences of this action by talking about this issue in entertaining programmes. Consequently, the environment is cleaner. To conclude, adding educational messages to entertaining programmes can lead to a loss of viewers because they are boring, while a combination of educational and entertaining can transform a society's culture and make it better.