The best way to teach children to cooperate is through team sports at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Whereas some people view team sports as the best method to make children learn how to work with others, I am strongly holding an opposite opinion toward this statement because children have different preferences for sports and team sports may lead the importance of competition to outweigh that of cooperation. Children ’s preferences and interests for sports are different. Some children think that doing exercises make them exhausted and sweating, so they do not enjoy taking exercises, which leads children to not participate positively and even prevent from taking part in team sports. However, fostering cooperation skills needs in-person participation and interaction, so when children do not devote time to activities, they will lack the opportunities to interact with teammates. Therefore, they are unable to obtain any collaboration skills from team sports. As a result, for this group of children, team sports is not the most effective way to teach children cooperation. Team sports easily lead the consequences to competition instead of cooperation. The essence of team sports is win and lose and ranking, so children may tend to pay attention to win the games rather than collaborate. For instance, during basketball games, higher-ability students tend to predominate the games and do not pass the ball to teammates, however, lower-ability or introverted students may be excluded and become less involved. This results in conflicts and blames. Consequently, team sports will not the best approach to foster cooperative skills. In conclusion, for the reasons mentioned above, I believe that teaching children to cooperate solely through team sports is not the best approach, as not all children enjoy participating in sports and competition often outweighs cooperation.