Many criminals re-offended after they have been punished. Why do some people continue to commit crimes after they have been punished, and what measures can be taken to tackle this problem?

In recent times, there has been the re-occurence of offenses commited by the same perpertrators after their time in prison. This essay will discuss on the reasons as to why they engage in such acts and the best meausures used to solved this problems. Firstly, the leading cause of this problem is the conviction of first time offenders. it is paramount to understand the impact of prison time on first time offenders or minor offenses such as a petty theft. As an illustration, the sentencing of these criminals to prison may have more negative influence on them because they get to mingle with other hardened criminals in prison that can in turn lead them to commit more crime when they get out. More so, when they are released from punishment it can be hard for them to get a good job because of their criminal record, by this they are more susceptible to fall back into a life of crime just to survive. Secondly, one of the effective ways to handle this is through rehabilitation programs in prison. These convicts should engage in vocational skills such as; plumbing, carpentery and even venture in an academia. By doing so, they would acquire some life changing skills that'll be benefitial to them when they are realeased. Progressively, some minor crimes of violence should be issued a community service because it prevents prison time and this way they can pay back to the community. A research conducted on the mental health of criminals who were issued a community service and those who were jailed showed that the community servers had a higher chance of coming out on good behaviour and rehabilitated back into the society compared to those who did time in the cell. To conclude, the effects of prison time on some offenders may impact them negatively, especially first time offenders, hence, proper rehabilitation and community service should be implemented on some of these criminals.