Government investment in the arts, such as music and theatre, is a waste of money. Governments must invest this money in public services instead. Do you agree or disagree?

In the contemporary world, music and theatre are potential long-term investments. Although some people disagree with this opinion, it is argued that the government funding of the arts is an inefficient decision. Analysing the benefits of the arts in society as well as their contribution to economic growth will prove this. First of all, contemporary art presents the history, traditions, and values of the nation. They preserve the cultural identity and transmit the rich cultural heritage to the next generation. For example, traditional Vietnamese music as ' nhac cai luong' or lotus painting in silk, embodies the thousand years ancient heritage. The preservation is consistently maintained, which contributes to embedding the extraordinary ancient core lessons and values in the next generation. Secondly, the art world contributes significantly to the economic values through indirect and direct channels. The influence of contemporary art extends beyond direct market transactions, creating a positive ripple effect through tourism, diplomacy and soft-power. Taking Korea as a strong example, K-pop and K-drama are taking advantage of that appeal majority of tourists to the country, which perhaps generates income far exceeding the initial expenditure. In conclusion, although spending on public services is undeniably essential, funding for the arts should not be viewed to be wasteful. The vibrant national arts, modernised form of arts, have become a recognised and alternative asset investment and a potential hedge for the volatile financial market. Therefore, a balanced and efficient investment plan on both public services and arts is well encouraged for society development.