Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nowadays, the sales of famous products are mainly due to the power of marketing and do not represent the actual daily necessities of consumers, so the sales of goods soared beyond expectations. Personally, I agree with this opinion. To begin with, advertising is a powerful tool for companies to promote their products and services to make profits. Hence, they will spend a lot of budget to finance this expense in order to make more people know about the products they manufacture. For example, Apple spends 7% of its selling and general expenses every year to promote its goods, such as iPhone, MacBook, AirPods, and Apple Watch. As a result, this strategy is effective because their device ecosystem is exclusive and safer for users, because to use it, a consumer must input a username and a password as a double security for better usage. However, sometimes people purchase more items than they need, for example, an iPhone 17 Pro Max, which is relatively expensive, so it is just a waste of money. By doing so, they will take a loan or use pay later to buy it at a high interest rate or save for months, even years, to obtain it in the marketplace. This phenomenon occurs in Indonesia, due to the elegance of items caused by the marketing they offer, societies will purchase it even though they do not have enough money or fear of missing out.fact, for example, some people only need some features on mobile phones, such as making calls, chatting, and using social media, so they can buy other brands at an affordable price. To sum up, advertising plays a crucial role when a company promotes their goods because of the psychological effect they create to boost its revenue, so consumers buy more than they need.