In most countries, prison is an effective solution for the problem of crime. Some people think a more effective solution is to provide a better education. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

For most of the nations, putting the criminal in prison is the main punishment for those who did serious crime. The public may think this is the best way to deter crime, and can ensure the safety of the citizen. But I assure that education is the better way to decrease the re-offended rate, there are some reasons to support my opinion. Firstly, education programs have the potential to make people better citizens. Some prison will arrange some psyco-social courses for criminals. The aim is to let them realize the worst behaviors of them will cause some kind of negative effect on society, including their family. Moreover, teaching some positive problem solving and relaxation methods, decreasing the opportunity for impulsive crime. Secondly, I think many criminal problems are origin in lack of meaning of life and poverty. In some countries, occupational therapists are part of prison education work. The therapist will have discussions with prisoners to analyze every aspect of their life, list the problem from it and find the solutions to redesign their life. If needed, they can have the training of developing working skills to strengthen the ability to be employed after being released from prison. That can build a comparely healthy daily routine and solve the problems of poverty, to fundamentally lower the recidivism rate. In Nordic countries, they prioritize education rather than harsh punishment, and that leads to the steady low re-offend rate. In summary, I believe education is the useful and positive way to fix the issue of crime.