In recent years, more and more are choosing to read e-books rather than paper books. Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Some people argue that a growing preference for e- books over traditional paper books is a positive development. This essay will demonstrate that the advantages of this trend include exceptional convenience and environmental friendliness. However, health issues and distractions can be its drawbacks. This essay will discuss both sides, and my opinion in detail with relevant examples. One key advantage of this trend is, reading books on computers offers exceptional convenience and is eco-friendly. That is to say that, unlike physical books, it is not required to carry electronic books as they can be read using electronic devices such as computers, mobile phones, and tablets. This is beneficial for people, especially for those who travel often. As an example, subscription rates for online books have increased significantly because an average of 65% of people prefer online reading rather than physical books. Moreover, digital books are eco-friendly, as they reduce the environmental damage caused by the paper-manufacturing process. As a result, more trees can be preserved while readers continue to enjoy the convenience of reading. However, one of the main disadvantages of this trend is that it also has potential impacts on our health. This is due to the fact that spending a lot of time watching a computer or mobile screen causes excessive stress on the eyes, which can lead to vision problems. For instance, a recent medical study revealed that the blue beam emitted by computer screens has harmful effects on our brain cells, which may cause headaches, and mental fatigue. Another disadvantage is that reading online causes more distractions due to frequent advertisements that pop up on screens tend to divert the concentration of readers, thereby preventing them from focusing for a long time. In contrast, such issues can be neglected when reading paper books. In conclusion, while there is a disadvantage related to vision issues and distractions, the advantages of e- books in terms of offering comfort, and being environmentally friendly make them a far more beneficial option overall. I believe that these advantages outweigh its drawbacks.