Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing taffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree. What measure do you think might be effective.

There has been an ongoing debate regarding traffic congestion and pollution issues. Some people argue that the best way to solve this problem is to increase the cost of fuel, such as petroleum. In my opinion, while I agree that this might be an effective solution, there are other efficient measures to control this trend in terms of providing reliable public transport, and promoting the use of renewable energy sources. This essay will explain my views in detail with relevant examples. To begin with, increasing the amount of fuel eventually reduces the number of cars on the road. If the petrol cost is increased, car owners cannot afford to spend a fortune on gas. As a result, they prefer opting for public transport as their primary means of travel, which in turn reduces the congestion. In addition, such an increased number of vehicles on the road also causes pollution, as they emit more harmful gases such as CO2 into the atmosphere, thereby leading to air pollution. For instance, a recent survey revealed that an average of 70% of individuals prefer driving every day because of the cheaper gas prices. Therefore, increasing the petrol cost will eventually reduce the traffic and pollution problems, while reducing the reliance on cars. However, this solution does not guarantee that the problem will be solved permanently. So, I would suggest that the government should improve the reliability of public transportation systems such as buses and trains. If trains run frequently, daily commuters prefer this mode of transport rather than relying on their personal vehicles. Furthermore, we use natural gases for vehicles, and to generate electricity, which is primarily the cause of pollution issues. In contrast, the government can promote sustainable power sources such as wind and solar energy, which will reduce the potential impacts of burning fossil fuels in our environment. As an example, Western countries are taking effective measures by enforcing carbon tax policy to control pollution and traffic issues. Also, they invested more funds to improve the efficiency of buses and trains. In conclusion, although I believe that increasing the cost of petrol will significantly reduce the growing concerns related to traffic and pollution, in my opinion, there are other efficient ways in terms of providing efficient public transport, and promoting renewable energy will help to solve this problem permanently.