Learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. Is it more positive for their future aspect or have some adverse effects? Agree or disagree?

Some individuals contend that it is more beneficial for children to learn new languages at a young age. I agree with this view. This essay will outline some points to support my opinion. First and foremost, when children are young, their brains function at an optimal level, and the chemicals responsible for learning are most active. During this period, they can grasp information easily and replicate it without obstacles. To exemplify this, I have lived across three continents, each time travelling with my daughter; my daughter managed to pick up the local languages, such as German, Chinese, and English; she even learnt the accents well while interacting with the locals in playgrounds, at school and at church. I, on the other hand, could not learn any of the languages as an adult. In addition to the biological aspect, learning a new language early helps with integration into new societies. Having knowledge of different languages makes one a global citizen, permitting them to live in different places. For instance, many global athletes tend to invest time learning languages such as French, Spanish and English so as to be able to compete professionally in countries such as France, Spain and England; this effort helps them to take instructions from coaches, communicate with fellow athletes and contribute to team efforts. Thus, multilingualism not only increases the opportunities available for them, but also prepares them to be outstanding sportsmen. In conclusion, I agree with the view that learning a new language at an early age is helpful for children. At this age, their brains are in a better position to learn, and the new language helps with fitting into society.