Task description It is generally accepted that exercise is good for children and teenagers. Therefore, physical education and sport should be compulsory for all students in all schools. What do you think? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write a minimum of 150 words.

Task answer It is widely agreed that regular physical activity is essential for physical and mental development of children and youngsters. Because of this reason, some people believe that all schools should include physical education as a part of their curriculum. I partly agree with this view, as structured physical activity might benefit some young people, but making it a mandatory may not be required in all cases. On one hand, compulsory physical education at school age has significant advantages. Being physically active will strengthen cardio vascular systems and reduces lifestyle related illnesses. Regular exercise will help maintain focus and concentration which fosters not only physical health but also academic performance. Moreover, active participation in sports will encourage students in team building activities. For instance, being an active member in school sports clubs will improve leadership skills and will also have a positive impact on child's social development. On the other hand, enforcing physical education will not show positive results in all cases. Not all children have same physical ability, and making it compulsory to enrol in same physical training programmes might create challenges for certain students. For example, schools can have students with physical and mental disabilities and other health related issues. Pressurising such students to same amount of physical activity like normal students will show severe negative impacts. In my opinion, although physical education has major benefits, schools should be flexible in how students fulfil this requirement. The structure should include a variety of activities, and customized training programs differentiating them based on amount of physical involvement required. In conclusion, instead of enforcing a strict physical education policy, schools should think of planning a balanced a flexible approach which can encourage young generation to have healthy life styles.