Some people argue that the fittest and strongest individuals and teams can achieve the greatest success in sports. But other people think the success is much related to the mental attitude. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In order to achieve success in sport, some people argue that it is more important to be strong mentally than physically. While no sportsperson can reach the top without the mental qualities of determination and dedication, I believe that the basis for success must be physical strength. Body · 1 On the one hand, all sports trainers recognise the necessity of a strong mental attitude. Firstly, if trainers cannot foster a competitive spirit, or even a win-at-all-costs attitude, the sportspeople who they train may lack the necessary motivation to work hard and succeed. Hours spent training in the gym, for example, may be repetitive and boring, and aspiring athletes need to stay focused. Secondly, in any sport there will be disappointments and failures, and it is essential to be mentally strong to overcome these and achieve one’s goals. In particular, in the world of professional sport, where news coverage places too much value on sport, it is impossible to have a laid-back attitude and still succeed. Body · 2 On the other hand, physical strength must be the basis of all success in sport. While most people take up sport simply to get into shape or to keep fit, those who wish to become successful must be physically strong. Obvious examples are sports such as weightlifting, boxing or judo. Yet all other sports also demand physical strength for stamina and endurance, even sailing or horseriding. Body · 3 Some sports stars, such as the world-famous professional cyclist Lance Armstrong, have even used illegal substances, like performance-enhancing drugs, in order to reach and maintain top physical condition, risking their careers.

In conclusion, both physical and mental strength are necessary to become successful in sport, but it is impossible to succeed without being physically strong.