Schools are no longer necessary, because children can get so much information available through Internet, and they can study just as well at home. What extent do you agree or disagree?

In this modern world, it is no doubt that various information is available in the Internet. Thus, it is argued whether children still need school, moreover if they can easily study at home. In this essay, I will explain why I strongly opposed this argument. Firstly, education institutions always have designed curriculum that is suitable with children ’s age development. For instance, toddlers under 5 years old, their brain is designed to play, to observe the environment. Meanwhile, children above 5 years old, their brain starts to understand letters and numbers, simple logic and it will slowly improve with time. With guide from the teachers, they will create a proper thinking method that can assist them to analyze further complex information, also to decide the rights or wrongs. For example, 5 years-old kids in Indonesia who obtain a proper guide from Montessori schools and teachers will show a significant fast-response brain compared to the ones who don’t. Secondly, In school, children spend a lot of time with their friends. Here, they will learn how to use their empathy through communication and interaction with others. Moreover, children will also adapt to multicultural backgrounds. This will teach them humility and enlarge their knowledge about other cultures. For example, some children who come from Jakarta province, will adapt how to speak and behave like Javanese poeple if they attend school in Java. In addition, it will also teach them about Java culture, such as, salim or uluk salam. In conclusion, I strongly disagree if the feasibility of gaining information from internet will replace the importance of schools. Students should learn basic ways of thinking before they can absorb any information in Internet. Also, they must learn how to practice empathy and broaden their cultural knowledge through interaction with their peers. Finally, this level of learning process will not be guaranteed through raw Internet.