Some people believe that elderly employees are more useful to a company, while others believe that young employees are better. Discuss both views and five your opinion.

There is a widely held view that older workers are more valuable to an organisation, but some individuals also highlight the value of younger ones. This essay will discuss both views before stating my opinion, which favours a balanced perception that foregrounds work experience and skills over age. Supporters of an elderly workforce tend to argue that their lifecourse experiences and longevity lead to organisational stability and growth. When companies hire older people, they also hire the wisdom and maturity that they bring, which can be utilised in problem-solving, innovation, and product marketing. In addition, this position is strengthened by examples of numerous older individuals, such as the founder of KFC, who have historically created successful business entities that are now reference points in the world. As such, the value of age cannot be understated in this discussion. On the other hand, those who believe that young people are better employees observe their energy, creativity, and technological acumen. These factors are fundamental to the growth and success of any institution. Their energies are vital for teambuilding, creative potential for the formation of innovative ideas, and technology for marketing and product value addition. For example, many companies today emphasise skills in digital marketing and virtual communication because many businesses have moved online. As such, it is the younger generation that is mostly hired due to their online presence and acumen. My opinion is that there is no need to employ people based on their age. Nowadays, organisations put in place support and development mechanisms to ensure that the workforce can address its weaknesses and contribute meaningfully to institutional performance. As such, hiring managers should focus more on skills and work experience instead of age. In conclusion, it seems plausible for certain individuals to imagine that older people perform better than their younger counterparts in work situations and vice versa. However, my opinion is that, with useful S&D policies in many companies, the focus of hiring managers should be directed to the work experience and skills employees bring, rather than their age.