Every country should have a free health service, even if this means that the latest medical treatments may not be available through the service because they are too expensive. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that general public must have access to hospitals for free, despite the fact that some services are too expensive and citizens should pay for them. This essay, however, partly agrees to this notion. On one hand, in different communities, there are individuals with poor backgrounds. They sometimes struggle to fend for their families. Asking such people to pay for hospital bills maybe be seen unfair. Certain studies note that, in most developing countries, citizens avoid going to the doctors when feeling unwell because of high consultation fees they cannot afford. Instead, they use traditional medicine and herbs which they overdose sometimes. This leads to more complications and in worst scenarios death. Thus, free access to health service must be legalised so to save lives of those who do not afford. On the other hand, I think that a small fee must be paid by everyone when visiting doctors inspite of their background. This is because some medicines and machines needed for other treatments are too expensive. If people pay, then, clinics and hospitals may be able to upgrade their standards and purchase latest equipment to treat certain diseases. For instance, most private hospitals are too expensive but they have latest machines needed for treating their clients. Therefore, paying a small fee may help to develop health services, hence, give patients good service. In conclusion, paying nothing to consult doctors may benefit patients without money thereby limiting cases of premature deaths. However, paying a small fee might help health departments in purchasing latest machinery which could help to treat the general public.