Some people think that older school children should learn a wide range of subjects and develop knowledge. But other people think that they should only learn a small number of subjects in detail. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

With a desire to make their children better people, parents nowadays believe broadening school subjects can be beneficial to their kids. While dissents believe that narrowing down the breadth of subjects can help children excel in fields they are interested in. This question is twofold. On the one hand, advocates argue that diversified subjects can give children more choice, that lead them to find their own field. They also believe studying a wide range of subjects gives people a multiple-pronged view when judging the surrounded reality. On the other hand, dissents point out that the view of fostering multifaced prespective from plural subjects is nothing but a fantasy due to the lack of consistency and commitment in that process. They also indicate that a subject a child can really devote themselves to is what we need in the current educational sector. I take it that if the older school children are learning liberal arts, then they may as well need multiple subjects in terms of broadening their horizon. But if they are in a STEM school, which requires more professionlized knowledge, concentrating on one subject can help them to be proficient in their fields. In conclusion, the pro quid quo here is that if aesthetic accumulations and enriching your knowledge reserves is your aim, then you need to diversify your studying portofolio. If you are in a certain science field, zero in on your main subject, only then can you go further.